Nick Poland

Action Sports

Massachusetts – USA

This is me

Mein Name ist Nick, ich bin 28 Jahre alt und in Massachusetts in den Vereinigten Staaten aufgewachsen. Ich fliege seit fast acht Jahren, und ich begann in einem kleinen Tunnel in Kalifornien, wo ich auch das Fallschirmspringen gelernt habe.

 

Meine bevorzugte Disziplin im Bodyflight ist Dynamic, und ich bin ein begeisterter Befürworter von Low-Speed-Techniken. Ich liebe Hunde, Musik, Keramik und Vintage-Audioausrüstung. Mein Traum ist es, sich eines Tages in ein Haus im Hobbit-Stil mit Hunde- und Gemüsegarten zurückzuziehen.

 

Ich glaube, dass wir alle derzeit in einer simulierten Realität leben, die von einer fortschrittlichen KI konstruiert wurde. Meine Lieblingsband ist Vulfpeck.

Next events I’m part of

– Deutsche Meisterschaft im Indoor Skydiving // März 2019

– Full Range Dynamic Skills Camp in Ontario, CA // Mai 2019

– Low Speed Trainingslager an der FlyStation Munich // Sommer 2019

Nick
follow me!

Why I‘m
InspiredBySports

Obwohl ich eine Weltklasse-Ausbildung an Elite-Institutionen erhielt, verließ ich das College um im Alter von 20 Jahren einen mittelmäßig bezahlten Job im Sportbereich zu bekommen. Ich konnte so als erster meiner Familie, der Blase der Wissenschaft entkommen ;).

 

Ich verbrachte mehr als ein Jahr auf einem Roadtrip, lebte aus einem umgebauten Schulbus und duschte in der örtlichen Turnhalle. Dies war die glücklichste und fruchtbarste Zeit meines Lebens und hin und wieder sehne ich mich zu diesem Weg zurückzukehren.

 

Jahrelang verspottete die fliegende Gemeinschaft meine Vorliebe, einen „billigen Ganzkörper-Badeanzug“ als Flugausrüstung zu tragen. Heute ist die Popularität dieser Anzüge in meinem Sport unübertroffen.

Gallery

My favorite Video

X

Nick Poland

Action Sports

Massachusetts – USA

This is me

My name is Nick, I am 28 years old and I grew up in Massachusetts in the United States. I have been flying for almost eight years, and I started in a small tunnel in California where I also learned to skydive.

 

My preferred discipline in bodyflight is Dynamic, and I am a fervent proponent of low-speed techniques. I love dogs, music, ceramics and vintage audio equipment. My dream is to one day retire into a Hobbit-style house with a dog and vegetable garden.

 

I believe that we all currently live in a simulated reality constructed by an advanced AI and my favorite band is Vulfpeck.

Next events I’m part of

– German National Indoor Skydiving Championship // March 2019

– Full Range Dynamic skills camp in Ontario, CA // May 2019

– Low Speed training camp at Flystation Munich // Summer 2019

Nick
follow me!

Why I‘m
InspiredBySports

Although I received a world-class education in elite institutions, I left college at the age of 20 to get a mediocre paid job in sports. I was the first of my family to escape the bubble of academia ;).

 

I spent more than a year on a road trip, lived in a converted school bus and showered in the local gym. This was the happiest and most fruitful time of my life and every now and then I long to return to this path.

 

For years, the flying community mocked my preference to wear a “cheap full-body swimsuit” as flight equipment. Today the popularity of these suits in my sport is unsurpassed.

 

I claim not to care about ANYTHING and believe this to be the only viable platform on which to pursue an art form.

Gallery

My favorite Video

X